

Resources Board

Agenda

Wednesday, 7 January 2015 11.00 am

Westminster Suite (8th Floor) Local Government House Smith Square London SW1P 3HZ

Guidance notes for visitors Local Government House, Smith Square, London SW1P 3HZ

Welcome!

Please read these notes for your own safety and that of all visitors, staff and tenants.

Security

All visitors (who do not already have an LGA ID badge), are requested to report to the Reception desk where they will be asked to sign in and will be handed a visitor's badge to be worn at all times whilst in the building.

Fire instructions

In the event of the fire alarm sounding, vacate the building immediately following the green Fire Exit signs. Go straight to the assembly point in Tufton Street via Dean Trench Street (off Smith Square).

DO NOT USE THE LIFTS.

DO NOT STOP TO COLLECT PERSONAL BELONGINGS.

DO NOT RE-ENTER BUILDING UNTIL AUTHORISED TO DO SO.

Open Council

"Open Council", on the 1st floor of LG House, provides informal meeting and business facilities with refreshments, for local authority members/ officers who are in London.



Toilets

Toilets for people with disabilities are situated on the Basement, Ground, 2nd, 4th, 6th and 7th floors. Female toilets are situated on the basement, ground, 1st, 3rd, 5th and 7th floors. Male toilets are available on the basement, ground, 2nd, 4th, 6th and 8th floors.

Accessibility

Every effort has been made to make the building as accessible as possible for people with disabilities. Induction loop systems have been installed in all the larger meeting rooms and at the main reception. There is a parking space for blue badge holders outside the Smith Square entrance and two more blue badge holders' spaces in Dean Stanley Street to the side of the building. There is also a wheelchair lift at the main entrance. For further information please contact the Facilities Management Helpdesk on 020 7664 3015.

Further help

Please speak either to staff at the main reception on the ground floor, if you require any further help or information. You can find the LGA website at www.local.gov.uk

Please don't forget to sign out at reception and return your badge when you depart.



Resources Board

7 January 2015

There will be a meeting of the Resources Board at **11.00 am on Wednesday, 7 January 2015** Westminster Suite, 8th Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ.

A sandwich lunch will be available at 1.00pm.

Attendance Sheet:

Please ensure that you sign the attendance register, which will be available in the meeting room. It is the only record of your presence at the meeting.

Political Group meetings:

Please contact your political group as outlined below for further details.

Apologies:

<u>Please notify your political group office (see contact telephone numbers below) if you are unable to attend this meeting.</u>

Labour:Aicha Less:020 7664 3263email: aicha.less@local.gov.ukConservative:Luke Taylor:020 7664 3264email: luke.taylor@local.gov.ukLiberal Democrat:Group Office:020 7664 3235email: libdem@local.gov.uk

Independent: Group Office: 020 7664 3224 email: Vanessa.Chagas@local.gov.uk

Location:

A map showing the location of Local Government House is printed on the back cover.

LGA Contact:

Frances Marshall

0207 664 3220 / frances.marshall@local.gov.uk

Guest WiFi in Local Government House

This is available in Local Government House for visitors. It can be accessed by enabling "Wireless Network Connection" on your computer and connecting to LGH-guest, the password is Welcome2010LG.

Carers' Allowance

As part of the LGA Members' Allowances Scheme a Carer's Allowance of up to £6.50 per hour is available to cover the cost of dependants (i.e. children, elderly people or people with disabilities) incurred as a result of attending this meeting.



Resources Board – Membership 2014/2015

Councillor	Authority	
Labour (7)		
Cllr Claire Kober (Chair)	Haringey Council	
Cllr Sue Murphy	Manchester City Council	
Cllr Aaron Shotton	Flintshire County Council	
Cllr Sharon Taylor OBE	Stevenage Borough Council	
Cllr Chris Shaw	North East Lincolnshire Council	
Cllr Sian Timoney	Luton Borough Council	
Cllr Tom Beattie	Corby Borough Council	
Substitutes		
Cllr Norman Keats	Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council	
Cllr Michael Mordey	Sunderland City Council	
,	,	
Conservative (7)		
Cllr Roger Phillips (Vice-Chair)	Herefordshire Council	
Cllr James Jamieson	Central Bedfordshire Council	
Cllr John Osman	Somerset County Council	
Cllr Nigel Ashton	North Somerset Council	
Cllr Melvyn Caplan	Westminster City Council	
Cllr Adrian Hardman	Worcestershire County Council	
Cllr John Fuller	South Norfolk District Council	
Substitutes		
Clir Rodney Rose	Oxfordshire County Council	
Clir Johanna Churchill	Lincolnshire County Council	
Clir Rory Love	Shepway District Council	
Clir Robert Saunders	East Hampshire District Council	
Cili Nobelt Gaunders	Last Hampshire District Council	
Liberal Democrat (2)		
Cllr Claire Hudson (Deputy Chair)	Mendip District Council	
Cllr Barbara Janke	Bristol City Council	
Substitutes		
Cllr Simon Shaw	Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council	
CIII SIIIIOII SIIaw	Settori Metropolitari Borougri Couricii	
Independent (2)		
Cllr Clarence Barrett (Deputy Chair)	Havering London Borough Council	
Cllr Linda van den Hende	Havering London Borough Council	
Out office		
Substitutes	W. I. O. I. D. I. O. II	
Cllr Robert Dutton OBE	Wrexham County Borough Council	
Cllr Adrian Naylor	Bradford Metropolitan District Council	

Non-Voting (3)		
Cllr Harvey Siggs	National Association of Regional Employers	
Cllr Denny Vitty	Northern Ireland Local Government	
	Association (NILGA)	
Cllr David Phillips	Welsh Local Government Assoc. (WLGA)	



Resources Board - Attendance 2014/2015

Councillors	17/10/14	
Labour Group		
Claire Kober	Yes	
Sue Murphy	Yes	
Aaron Shotton	Yes	
Sharon Taylor	No	
Chris Shaw	Yes	
Sian Timoney	No	
Tom Beattie	Yes	
Conservative Group		
Roger Phillips	Yes	
James Jamieson	Yes	
John Osman	Yes	
Nigel Ashton	Yes	
Melvyn Caplan	Yes	
Adrian Hardman	Yes	
John Fuller	Yes	
Lib Dem Group		
Claire Hudson	Yes	
Barbara Janke	Yes	
Independent		
Clarence Barrett	Yes	
Linda van den Hende	Yes	
Non-voting		
Harvey Siggs	No	
Denny Vitty	No	
Substitutes		
Norman Keats	Yes	
Michael Mordey	Yes	
Jo Churchill	Yes	



Agenda

Resources Board

Wednesday 7 January 2015

11.00 am

Westminster Suite, 8th Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ

	Item	Page
1.	Declarations of Interest	
2.	Minutes of the previous meeting held on 17 October 2014	1 - 10
	WORKFORCE	Page
3.	Strategic Issues in Local Government Pay (CONFIDENTIAL)	11 - 16
4.	Workforce Update	17 - 32
	LOCAL GOVERNMENT FINANCE	Page
5.	Municipal Bonds Agency (CONFIDENTIAL)	33 - 40
6.	The Local Government Finance Settlement for 2015- 16	41 - 58
	EU FUNDING	Page
7.	European Structural and Investment Funds 2014- 2020 Update	59 - 62
	WELFARE REFORM	Page
8.	Welfare Reform Update	63 - 77

Date of Next Meeting: Friday, 27 March 2015, 11.00 am, Smith Square 3&4, Ground Floor, Local Government House, Smith Square, London, SW1P 3HZ